Leave a comment

Book Review: South of the Boarder, West of the Sun

Murakami’s another book south of the border west of the sun, is a must read for all men and women who build their life and think love and marriage are the easiest thing ever. Like Paulo Coelho said there is no such thing as happy love. If you are dreaming or fantasizing you would be happy in love, could not be more wrong. A true lovein my opinion is, passionate and consumes you in its heat and blaze. I am not judging, if you have the happy love, don’t take my word. Everyone has their own way of loving.

I don’t know where or when but long time ago the term ”making love” was a replacement word to lessen the Violent word to have sex or fuck. Anyhow am not talking about sex or love. I keep drifting in and out. The book is mainly about the mid life crisis especially in men. I mean Murakami only can write from male perspective. Am not there yet, but it never hurts to prepare yourself.

It tells story of Hajime his life from age of 12 to present 37. A happily married guy, with a beautiful wife, two girls, a successful business owner, but he was willing to drain it in toilet for another woman. Mid life crisis I used to take it for granted or laugh about it with sitcoms I see in TV. It is no laughing matter. It can burn you and people you care about together. You might think it is just about you, but trust me it’s not.

South of the Border, West of the Sun > Cover

The plot and the writing is just superb. How he wrote the book just makes you feel experienced already from Hajime. As a wise Ethiopian quote says a wise man learns from mistakes of others, only a fool learns after it happened to him.

I don’t want to take that chance. This is one of the reasons am obsessed with books. I learn a lot before it happens to me. I don’t want to burn myself and people I love in my stupid hormonal imbalance.

Hope you will read this book and prepare for the trouble which might come. Here are some Quotes from the book.

“here she is, all mine, trying her best to give me all she can. How could I ever hurt her? But I didn’t understand then. That I could hurt somebody so badly she would never recover. That a person can, just by living, damage another human being beyond repair.”
― Haruki Murakami, South of the Border, West of the Sun

“Once thing goes wrong, then the whole house of cards collapses. And there’s no way you can extricate yourself. Until someone comes along to drag you out.”
― Haruki Murakami, South of the Border, West of the Sun

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

