2 Comments

Chronicle of the Wind Up Bird

Cover of the wind-up bird Chronicles

Cover of the wind-up bird chronicle

One of the perks of being a blogger is that blogging is not your priority. I mean it comes after lists of things you have to do and afterwards you are tired and don’t want to blog anymore. Trust me, it’s not an excuse and I am trying to squeeze minutes before my eyes shut on me and I say good night.

These days, the only me time or thought winding moments I have are in the morning on the mini-bus, but only if I don’t meet anyone I know or have to talk to. That’s also shared with the book I’m currently reading, which snaps me in and out of my winding-up thoughts.

Sorry for my over use of “winding up”. You might have guessed it, if you knew I’m a Murakami fanatic. Yeah, I am reading “The wind-up Bird Chronicle”. It’s one of those books that will drift you to a thought of deepest despair, highest of freedom or just makes you tired of thinking too much and make afterwards you fall sleep or angry so that you want to do anything but read. But believe me, it’s addictive and therefore you cannot stay away for long.

Am currently on page 269, reading at a pace of 20 pages/day. That’s just not like me. It seems am preparing myself for “100 Years of Solitude”, which will be my next book if I don’t change my mind and grab a light read. Who knows I might regain my pace after the 300page mark.

I wanted to say a lot about the book in general, characters in detail or the plot summery. Here I am, like the main character, in a deep dark and dry well with no prospect of getting out. The major achievement of this book is the book itself. You must be a pure genius to come up with this kind of characters, scenarios, and stories with deeper understanding from their simple life form how they are shaped. How a person’s past, present and destiny affects from the simplest thought formation to materialization of dreams and thought. I know, even me is don’t understand me; my thoughts are complicated and far spread from my typical formation, analyzing and conclusion. I’m sorry to drag you with my chaotic process, but it is a new way of processing thoughts. I hope I learn from the process.

My favorite quote from the book is:

“You go up when you’re supposed to go up and down when you’re supposed to go down. When you’re supposed to go up, find the highest tower and climb to the top. When you’re supposed to go down, find the deepest well and go down to the bottom.”

It is supposed to be the prediction of a fortune teller. It makes a lot sense when you are spacing out more than you normally do or your usual thinking pattern starts from the a complex geometric chaos instead of a scratch or a point.

2 comments on “Chronicle of the Wind Up Bird

  1. I am eager to read this book!! I have read only one Haruki Murakami book, Sputnik Sweetheart, which I loved. I have had this one on my TBR list for a while, sounds promising :). Happy reading, cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

